Posted by: thefitacademic | November 25, 2010

Eat-Fest 2010

This was our 2nd Thanksgiving not going home. The first time I went ALL OUT – 3 appetizers, 5 side dishes, 3 desserts – just a sick amount of food! This year I wanted it to be way more “chill”….for me, that is ; )

So, I decided to pick just a couple main things to make all out (from scratch), and the rest I was going to do easy-style…plus WAY FEWER options than the first time around.

When I woke up, I was scheduled for  long run today so I needed to fuel up:

2 slices whole wheat toast, almond butter, 2/3 banana, and a drizzle of agave nectar. I’m not gonna lie, it was hard to choke down….took me about 30 minutes (I was just not feeling it today), but I forced myself because I’m training for a half marathon and I know this will be the breakfast I’m going to eat, so it’s important to practice it ~ get your body used to it, etc.

So I ate, digested, stretched, and set out on my 10 mile run (personal record distance)! It was nice and leisurely paced. I stopped once at about mile 6 to do some more stretches, and then I was good to go. When I got home I saw my 100 lb “baby” snuggled up ~ somehow he’d hidden himself in the pillows on the bed & when I called his name he poked his head up like a prairie dog

For dinner the hubs’ did a smoked turkey (YUM!)

I made a sweet potato casserole that is absolutely sinful!

The recipe is Chris’ grandma’s, but lucky you – it’s about to become YOURS if you know what’s good for you.

Sweet Potato Casserolle

For the potatoes:

4-5 sweet potatoes, washed (and peeled, if desired)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 eggs, beaten

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup milk

*Boil or bake potatoes, mash, and add all ingredients in a large bowl, then smooth into a 9 x 13 pan.

Topping:

1/3 cup butter, melted

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

1 cup chopped pecans

*Mix all ingredients in order. Spread evenly on top of the potatoes.

*Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

Just prepare yourself – this is basically a dessert masquerading as a “side-dish”! It’ll sure cause a spike in the blood sugar!

While cooking I enjoyed this

Lunch/Dinner also featured canned corn, rolls straight from the bag, canned cranberries and a green salad (all easy stuff). After digesting for awhile I went back for the dessert that I’d prepared yesterday, the Pumpkin Caramel Cheesecake!

And the afternoon was filled with football, naps, and lovin’

I see an early night in our future….we’re both kinda snoozing on-and-off on the couch still in a turkey coma!

Hope you had a great thanksgiving!

Responses

  1. I am seriously stuffed to the gills! Twas a damn great day though! Happy Thanksgiving! 😀

  2. GREAT job on the run! That is awesome. A smoked turkey? Very cool. And the casserole looks delicious. I can’t believe Thanksgiving is already over!

  3. Way to muster the motivation to run yesterday! I’m still trying to peel myself off this chair to do some semblance of a workout today and the holiday’s OVER. I made a sweet potato casserole yesterday too and at the end of the meal, everyone was like, “Wow, Madeleine, your dessert was delicious!”

    • That’s awesome – it always feels good when you make something that people really love, ya know?

  4. Looks nice!! I was asleep at 8 PM last night. I had a race in the morning and then hosted 13 people at my house. After all that PLUS a full belly, I was BEAT.

    • Whoa! I bet! Was it a Turkey Trot race? I’m so sad I missed out on Turkey Trot this year ~ it’s always so much fun! Hosting 13 people was probably crazy, too! Hope it all went well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

