Posted by: thefitacademic | November 23, 2010

Ashley cooks lately

Tonight I was inspired by reading THIS where a fellow blogger talked about how easy it is to make homemade tortillas. You see, BBQ chicken “pizzas” were on the menu for dinner tonight, made on tortillas. It’s something I’ve been making for years – it’s light on carbs and you can make it low fat with the right cheese. The problem is we only had corn tortillas and the boy only like flour. I did NOT feel like going out just to get tortillas.

Enter Flour, Water, and a little Veg Oil (I didn’t have canola…don’t think it really mattered)

rolled it out, cut into appropriate sized tortillas, threw it in a big pan on the stove over med-high heat & in like 3 minutes – presto!

I wish I would’ve added a pinch of salt – but not bad (and seriously sooooo easy!)

I used corn tortillas for my pizzas. I like to broil the torts for a couple minutes so they get a little crisp.

Take 1 = FAIL

Take 2 = Success!

We don’t have a lot of veggies on hand, so our pizzas tonight were kinda sad in terms of toppings. We had cheese, chicken (I baked an extra breast last night when I was cooking those chickens), seasonings, and some diced jalapenos using our brand new slap chop. I’m seriously loving our Bed Bath and Beyond wedding gift cards – getting awesome stuff!

Close – up of the excellent dicing job

Here they are all plated up (excuse the bite, I almost forgot to take the pic!)

After dinner, I took some rosemary that’s been growing in a cup on my kitchen window sill for the past few weeks growing roots (I’d snipped some from a giant bush at school and have just been growing the roots out) and transported them into a pot with soil. Here’s the before:

And the after:

I’m going to try to spend the rest of the evening relaxing! I’ve been so busy with school playing catch-up after the wedding that I’ve had NO “me” time, and certainly no time just hanging with the new hubs! So tonight we’re just chilling out!

Make sure you take time to chill out sometime amidst all the Thanksgiving craziness, too!!

Responses

  1. Holy crap… I had no idea tortillas were so easy!! I am totally going to have to make my own! 😀

  2. The pizzas look great! I don’t usually like using tortitllas as a base because I find them too thin, but I think homemade tortillas would work so well!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

