Posted by: thefitacademic | November 21, 2010

1 good thing

that has happened to me this week:

we got a washing machine!

Believe it or not, since we moved to Tucson we’ve been doing 100% of our laundry at laundromats! We left everything we owned behind when we moved here from Florida, only bringing what could fit in a small trailer we towed behind my Kia Spectra.

Well, after a year and a half, we are MOVIN’ ON UP in life! : )

Our utility/laundry room is tiny, so we tried to just buy a washer and do this thing, pilgrim style:

But after one load of darks and one load of whites, we discovered that our usually plush towels were stiff and our jeans were all baggy (you don’t realize how the fact that your dryer shrinks stuff can actually be a good thing), we decided to do some rearranging and now we have a dryer too.

Here’s our new laundry room:

Here’s our newly rearranged living room:

Please ignore the hideous floors (& chair –  it’s the boys’)….we’re renters so we can’t rip them up (if we could, we soooo would). This place is cheap, mmmkay?

Sooo, this week has been super hellish. I’ve definitely been paying for the fact that I just took off 2 weeks of school! Yikes! As a result my workouts have been basically non-existent.  : (

I’ve tried to make it up where I can. For example, remember my new bike? Well, in addition to a couple quick runs, I also rode my bike to school a couple times this week. Wanna hear something crazy? Riding a bike was SOOO much harder than I recall?! Confession: Although I’m an avid runner, hiker, swimmer, etc., I haven’t actually ridden a real (non-stationary) bike probably since I was 10 years old.  I live less than 4 miles from school, so I thought biking it would be nothing, but I had a good sweat working by the time I got there!

This is definitely a wake-up call. I want to do a triathlon next year and always figured the biking was the easiest! Yikes! Clearly some biking will be in my future!

In other news, I went to Bed Bath & Beyond today getting these canisters (thank you wedding gift cards!)

and saw this evil store calling my name:

But – be proud – I resisted! I only did so because I know I’m going to be doing some serious munching this week! Not only is Thanksgiving coming up, I just picked up all the ingredients to make some pumpkin chocolate chip muffins!!!! mmmmmmm!!!! I’ll put up the recipe when I make them (hopefully I’ll get to them tomorrow evening).I’ll let ya know.

Responses

  1. I couldn’t imagine not having a washer/dryer in our home. The things you don’t think to be thankful for, huh? Glad you got a good set up going on now. And I don’t think I could have resisted the cupcake. LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

