Posted by: thefitacademic | September 17, 2011

Running & Ipod Downloads

I swear I’m alive!

School and work are just taking a lot from me this semester. I thought it wouldn’t be possible to get any busier than I was last Fall when I was going to school/working full time + planning a wedding! Looks like I can. Winking smile

So I’ve learned to deal. And some things have fallen to the wayside – like not drinking sodas and limiting my coffee intake. I’m drinking at least 1 a day of each, and generally more…

(Source)image

But other things have NOT fallen to the wayside. Like exercising! Some friends and I got a Cross Fit membership through Groupon and so far I’m really loving it. Not sure that I’ll continue doing it after my 10 passes are up, but it’s been so much fun doing the group workout thing lately! And I’ve still been trying to maintain as much of my “clean eating” as a-soda-a-day will allow, ya know?

banana

Also since we last “spoke” I’ve been to Texas and back for a presentation I gave at UT in the Psychology department (which went amazingly well)

And I got a scooter! Now I can zip around to/from school no problem and I guess we are “technically” no longer a 1-car-family (though I would never take the scooter long/distances or highways, so not sure it counts?)

scooter

Anyways, it’s been a good while since I’ve shown some of my recent ipod downloads. And because I’ve spent some time recently traveling, I’ve got a special edition of ipod downloads:

Ipod Downloads, Travel Edition*

Jack Johnson – Angel

Regina Spektor – Fidelity; Samson

Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man

John Mayer – Who Says

Matchbox 20 – Hang

Brad Paisley – American Saturday Night

Heidi Newfield – Johnny and June

Miranda Lambert – Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

Steve Holy – Good Morning Beautiful

Charlie Mars – Dark Side

*You’ll notice these songs are much more “chill” than my average running/workout playlists. If you want some ideas for more upbeat songs, check out some previous ipod downloads (1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

I’ve been especially obsessed with that last song by Charlie Mars. Have you heard it? It’s not even the lyrics (truthfully, I don’t even know all the words!), but something about the beat – it’s just so soothing! Love it! (You can read about another music obsession here)

Well, I’m out! Lots to get done! We’ll catch up again soon Open-mouthed smile

What’s your most exciting recent purchase? (The scooter is definitely mine!)

Responses

  1. WAIT wait wait wait. Did you put chocolate hazelnut butter on your baby carrots??? What does that taste like?? LOL! I can’t imagine it!

  2. very cool scooter :) congrats!

  3. ah bummer, wish I could have see you at UT! glad it went well though.

  4. Nothing like your cool purchases…but I did end up buying a lot of make-up lately (like went to the store, let the women do my make-up …ended up spending $$$. But thanks to being stuck in Chicago extra days due to hurricane irene, I had to spend more money for a place to sleep etc.

  5. I love your scooter! I got a vitamix – not as exciting as yours but still pretty cool.

  6. Nice scooter!!! I cant think of a most exciting recent purchase.. I havent really purchased anything “recently” but I guess Id say my bicycle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

