Posted by: thefitacademic | August 15, 2011

“His” and “Hers”

I made it back to Tucson safely after my Poppy’s funeral and all of the accompanying family visits. While the visit was, of course, sad, it was also good to be surrounded by family. Even so, I was ready to leave and come back to Tucson yesterday. My flight was delayed (of course – just my luck!), but Chris was waiting to bring me home and I was pleasantly surprised to walk into a clean house….or so I thought.

I don’t know about you or your relationships, but in my relationship, it feels like my husband and I have very different ideas of what constitutes “clean.”

Upon first inspection everything looked pretty impeccable.

The living room was uncluttered and there were no piles of mail or other odds and ends on our coffee table.

IMAG1639

Forgive the dark photo, it was becoming dark and lighting was not the best.

And I walked into the bedroom to find a nicely folded bed.

IMAG1042IMAG1043

The carpet was freshly vacuumed, the “tile” was freshly swept. Not a spot in sight!

IMAG1052

That is, until I opened the closet and almost got buried underneath a hoard of shoes.

IMAG1051

And then I noticed my desk and the giant bulk of mail, bills, and other random things that had been hastily dumped.

IMAG1640

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m grateful that the hubs would pick things up and sweep and vacuum. So sweet of him. But not really my idea of “true” cleanliness.

Luckily I had told my boss I wouldn’t be back in the office until tomorrow (Tuesday), so I get to spend the morning today going back and really cleaning. You know…like filing bills, sorting shoes, and actually putting things away rather than dumping them in a pile.

My hubbs…gotta love him!

I also plan to make a grocery store trip, make some fresh pesto, and do some reading/e-mail catch up. Thank goodness for a day off work before I have to go back into the office!

Do you and your spouse (or partner) have different definitions of the word “clean”?

When you go out of town do you schedule an extra day “off” when you return so you can take care of household chores, or do you just dive right back into work?

Responses

  1. oh my gosh my husband does the same! too funny. YEs, very grateful but Piles of stuff is not clean to me. hehe.

  2. My husband is a lot cleaner than me, but not as tidy. I’m tidier than him, but not as clean. Perfect match!

    Yeah having an extra day off after a trip is often necessary. Although, for me every day is a day off right now…

  3. omg lol…i would have been freaking out hahahah

  4. Oh God. We are living with my husband’s grandparents right now and OH. MY. GOD. It looks like a magazine in here and literally everything has to be LITERALLY spotless at all times. Like, not a crumb, not a single speck of dust, not anything a centimeter out of place. I am about to throw myself out a window. Once we get our own place I will horrify you with my level of rebellious uncleanliness. I never want to clean again after being here.

  5. Sorry, the shoes made me laugh. My boyfriend is actually a lot tidier than I am, so we have different ideas, but I think most people would side with him.
    I like having the extra day, but I actually have just gone back to work the last several trips (like I got back from the UK on Sunday and went to work Monday). That’s more about conserving vacation days than anything though.

  6. I’m glad that you had a great time with your family, even though I know it was hard. Again, I’m so sorry for your loss.

    OK, I apologize…but I laughed out loud at your hubby’s cleaning. So sorry!

  7. I am sorry about your loss. Your Hubby actually cleaned the places he felt mattered. Places that were visible. :-) The cluttered shoes in the closet is really funny.

    I am glad you were able to get the day off to tidy up the rest.

  8. gah you are a step ahead of me still! my room is CRAZY–especially the shoe section. ;)

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

