Posted by: thefitacademic | June 18, 2011

Shred the Fat, Cut the Hair

Today was Day #2 of doing Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred

IMAG0983

I didn’t really set out to do all 30 days consecutively or anything, it’s just happened that I’ve done the past couple days. Both days I’ve definitely worked up a sweat, but I’m still not sure about the program overall. It seems to encourage lower weight, higher reps, and I’ve really been working on using larger weights and lower reps lately, so it’s kinda the opposite of what I’ve been going for. I may keep doing it the next few days and see if I change my mind.

I’ve also decided to do something else that may help me to “shred fat” and certainly will help me to be healthier. I’ve decided to do a 30 day all-whole-foods cleanse. I already try to eat as cleanly as possible, but I still have plenty of processed foods in my diet. I have a special weakness for sweets. I’d like to try to replace sour gummy worms (yes – my favorite candy is a child’s sweet) with dates; replace my salad dressings and processed condiments for real, fresh ingredients that don’t include preservatives or HFCS; replace my crystal light or occasional soda water flavored with lemon or lime.  I’m going to try to do it for the month that I’m teaching summer school – approximately the second week of July until the second week of August. I’ll be on a regular schedule and doing more meal planning then, so it just makes sense (plus it’ll be hard to stick to all whole foods over the 4th of July holiday). I’ll keep you updated about my progress as I go through it.

You may be wondering about the title of this post (“Shred the Fat, Cut the Hair’). Well, unfortunately, the hair portion does not apply to cutting my own hair.

If you read Caitlins’ blog then you may be familiar with Tonya’s story (I referenced it here). Well another family I know is battling a horrific cancer. Our families have been friends for years and I’ve grown up with this woman, now 29. She and her husband have 3 beautiful children, aged 5, 3, and 10 monthsimage

*before the youngest was born

image

image

Their oldest daughter, Jaylie, was taken to the optometrist for a routine visit after having some vision problems. The news wasn’t good. The doctor said to get Jaylie to the emergency room immediately, as she had a tumor that didn’t look good. On May 3rd of this year little Jaylie was diagnosed with a rare and aggressive form of cancer (Supratentorial Premitive Neuroectodermal Tumor, S-PNET).

She started chemo therapy and radiation 3 weeks ago. Just this week they made the decision to shave her head bald after loosing it in clumps due to treatment. She’s such a trooper, though. She wanted to shave her Dad and Grandpa’s heads first and was excited that they all looked the same. Kids can have such great attitudes sometimes!

image

The family is lucky to have very supportive grandparents that go with Jaylie and her mom to appointments so that her Dad can keep working. Even so, the time is obviously stressful and medical expenses (even when you have insurance) can add up quickly. If you’d like to follow Jaylie’s store, you can read more here. You can also choose to make a donation on that site – every bit helps!

Are there any charity events/nonprofit organizations/etc that you support?

What proportion of your diet is from whole foods?

Responses

  1. Awww. I think Jaylie is adorable with no hair!! :) Praying for her.

    Almost all of my diet consists of whole foods – I use one scoop of protein powder (100 cal) and one serving of amino acids (20cal).

  2. Lots of prayers for their family! I’ve only tried level 2 of the shred once and it kicked my butt! Haha! I usually just stick with level 1!

  3. That last photo brought tears to my eyes. I’m sending lots of good thoughts to Jaylie and her family.

  4. Thanks for sharing Jaylie’s story—I will definitely follow it!

    I eat about 90-95% whole foods. I just feel better this way!

  5. What a sweetheart- I hope for the best for her :)
    I eat mostly whole foods, except when I want something random for a treat that is junk. Can’t completely avoid it, and wouldn’t want to !

  6. Oh, Jaylie looks adorable. I’ll be thinking about her.
    I donate to several charities, but lately I’ve been more active for animal related ones (racing a 5k for a rescue group, volunteering at a shelter).
    I suspect there are places in my diet where I could improve, but I do try to eat more whole foods than not.

  7. […] although I’m not starting my clean eating challenge until the second week of July, I think it’s never too soon to start making an […]

  8. […] that I never really set out to do the whole 30 Day Shred program, I sure have been doing it a lot! I haven’t been following the ordering at all though. The first […]

  9. […] been doing a lot of Jillian’s 30 Day Shred. I’ve talked about what I think of it here and here (don’t hate it, but not super impressed). I’ve also been riding my bike for transportation […]

  10. […] think these babies are going to come in handy when I’m doing my All REAL FOOD challenge, starting in a couple weeks. I have such a horrible sweet tooth so its nice to know I can get eat […]

  11. […] also started my 30 Day Clean Eating Challenge yesterday. So far, so good but I’ll have to save the deets for another blog […]

  12. […] Day Clean Eating Challenge You may remember that I had decided to do a 30 Day Clean Eating Challenge. 100%whole foods and just a general emphasis to eat healthier, in general. And to be fair, I have […]

  13. […] still doing my 30-Day Clean-Eating Challenge, so this is Part II of my Clean-Eating Eats! (See Part I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

